GPA Midstream recognizes association, industry contributors

AUSTIN, Texas (April 16, 2018) – The GPA Midstream Association today presented awards to a select group of individuals and member companies in recognition of outstanding contributions to the association and midstream industry.

GPA Midstream Chairman Wouter van Kempen, DCP Midstream, and GPA Midstream President and CEO Mark Sutton led the awards ceremony during the Center Stage Luncheon of the association’s 97th annual convention in Austin, Texas.

Alan Armstrong, president and chief executive officer of Williams (Tulsa, Okla.), and chairman and CEO of Williams Partners L.P., was presented the GPA Midstream Hanlon Award, the association’s highest honor.

Armstrong was one of the key driving forces behind GPA Midstream’s elevated advocacy presence and voice on Capitol Hill in recent years, plus he influenced how GPA Midstream operates as a trade association today. He served on the association’s board from 2002-2011, and held officer terms from vice president to president between 2006-2011.

Targa Resources (Houston) was recipient of GPA Midstream’s first CEO Award. The distinction recognizes member companies demonstrating association and industry service above and beyond all others.

Upon accepting the award, Targa CEO and Director Joe Bob Perkins told the audience of nearly 1,200 that getting involved in GPA Midstream was a priority for Targa and said the company has more than 30 employees active in association matters. Several from the company were in attendance, including former GPA Midstream Chairman Mike Heim. Perkins recognized Heim and also extended thanks to his entire team on hand.

Dr. Karl Gerdes earned the association’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The consulting engineer began his GPA Midstream involvement early in his 40-year career with Chevron Energy and has remained active since forming Karl Gerdes Consulting in California in 2013.

Gerdes became engaged in the association’s Research Committee around 1985 and has chaired the group since 2009. He has also served on the association’s Program Committee and Awards Committee, and as a convention chair.

Texas A&M Professor Dr. James C. Holste was presented the prestigious Donald L. Katz Award, an honor bestowed for outstanding work in industry science and for educational excellence in the classroom.

The chemical engineering professor has co-authored 12 GPA Midstream Research Reports and also been highly involved in the university’s projects dealing with conversion of natural gas into liquid fuels, and improved techniques to determine gas flow rate using orifices.

Several individuals were recognized for their unselfish giving of time, expertise and knowledge through participation among GPA Midstream committees.

Honored with Committee Leadership Awards were Dave Curtis, Anadarko Petroleum (The Woodlands, Texas); Adrienne Sandoval, Andeavor Logistics (San Antonio); Jeff Stovall, SWCA Environmental Consultants (Houston); Jim Hanson, EnCana Oil & Gas (Denver); David Callahan, MarkWest Energy Partners (Denver); Jeff Stake, Oil-GasTech (Odessa, Texas); Andy Giffhorn, Phillips 66 (Houston); Chip Burkett, Pine River Energy Services (Pine River, Colo.); and Gary Phillips, Wood (Pittsburgh).

Presented Volunteer of the Year Awards were Tim Rollenhagen, Anadarko Petroleum (The Woodlands, Texas); Dave Oldaker, Enterprise Products (Houston); Jeff Morton, Enterprise Products (Houston); Stuart Hamilton, ExxonMobil/XTO (Houston); Mahdi Nouri, Jacobs (Dallas); Chad Love, Phillips 66 (Houston); and Dewayne Anderson, Virtual Materials Group (Houston).

For more information about GPA Midstream and its award descriptions, visit www.GPAmidstream.org.