GPA Midstream presents distinguished service awards

AUSTIN, Texas (April 18, 2018) – The first GPA Midstream Convention Chairman’s Breakfast provided an appropriate venue for outgoing association Chairman Wouter van Kempen, DCP Midstream, to express his thanks and make final award presentations to individuals and companies on the final day of the 2018 event.

In attendance were GPA Midstream officers and past presidents, GPSA officers and past presidents, association official representatives, convention award recipients, committee leaders, international and domestic chapter officers, and leaders of other associations.

Van Kempen recapped convention awards presented earlier in the week and honored three individuals with GPA Midstream distinguished service awards.

“As you heard during Monday’s Center Stage Luncheon, we’re recognizing Joel Moxley, Paul Brewer and Steve Tzap today for going above and beyond the call of duty to serve GPA Midstream and GPSA in various capacities throughout their careers.

Moxley, Southcross Energy (Houston), and Brewer, Enable Midstream Partners (Oklahoma City), were presented Citations for Service Awards. Both men have been active in association matters ranging from committee involvement to leadership roles for many years over their respective long careers in the industry.

Moxley was instrumental in GPA Midstream elevating its advocacy efforts in recent years, and led the association’s strategic planning initiatives in 2015 and 2017, both of which have greatly shaped how the group operates today.

Brewer has been a champion for the association’s recent changes. He was a calming influence during the Gas Processors Association name change to GPA Midstream, and openly supported the total revamp of the 2018 convention.

Steve Tzap, Zap Engineering and Construction Services (Lakewood, Colo.), was presented GPA Midstream’s Recognition Award. Tzap was GPSA president last year and remains an active GPSA Board member. He also was a founding member of the Rocky Mountain GPA Midstream Chapter.

Additionally, van Kempen recognized outgoing chairs David Callahan with MarkWest (Denver), Legislative Committee; Jim Hanson with Encana Oil & Gas (Denver), Safety Committee; Jeff Stovall with Crestwood Midstream (Houston), Environmental Committee; Wayne Ziegler with Sem Gas (Tulsa, Okla.), Program Committee; and Chip Burkett, Pine River Energy (Pine River, Colo.).

“You’ve heard me say often over the past few days that our volunteers are the lifeblood of GPA Midstream and GPSA. I, nor the small staff of these associations, take your contributions of time, expertise and leadership for granted. Thank you for helping make our associations great, and for putting us, and helping keep us, on center stage,” van Kempen added.

For more information about GPA Midstream and GPSA, and their respective leadership and awards, visit www.GPAMidstream.org.